CNM Researchers Present Findings at Department of Energy EFRC Summit/Forum

EFRC poster presenters and Director Xiaoyang Zhu at the EFRC Summit/Forum in Washington, D.C. (left to right) Johanna Brazard (postdoc), Karalee Jarvis (postdoc), Robert Ono (grad student), Justin Harris (grad student) and Xiaoyang Zhu. (Special thanks to EFRC:CST coordinator Deborah Peterson for the custom solar messenger bag!)

In August 2009, the Office of Science established 46 Energy Frontier Research Centers, including the EFRC:CST at UT-Austin, which involves a group of nearly 50 researchers affiliated with the Center for Nano- and Molecular Science. EFRCs are collaborative research efforts intended to accelerate high-risk, high-reward fundamental research, the scientific basis for transformative energy technologies of the future.

A cohort of twelve EFRC:CST faculty, students and postdocs presented their research findings as part of “Science for Our Nation’s Energy Future,” an Energy Frontier Research Centers Summit & Forum held in Washington, D.C. in May 2011. This meeting, hosted by the U.S. Department of Energy, brought together scientists and energy policy leaders to explore challenges and opportunities in applying America’s extraordinary scientific and technical resources to critical energy needs. Over 1000 researchers representing each of the nation’s 46 EFRCs attended the meeting, and keynote speakers included U.S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu; John Hennessy, President of Stanford University; Mark Little, Senior VP and Director of GE Global Research and Eric Isaacs, Director of Argonne National Laboratory.

“The Energy Frontier Research Centers are key elements of our national strategy to accelerate the scientific breakthroughs for tomorrow’s energy technologies,” said Secretary of Energy Steven Chu.  “This meeting provides a context for collaboration across the national energy enterprise and an opportunity to hear about the most promising and exciting advances the Centers are making.”

DOE also sponsored an EFRC video contest as part of the Summit/Forum. The EFRC:CST students and postdocs who attended the Summit/Forum produced a creative video entry with help from UT’s Office of Public Affairs, and their video received the third-highest number of votes in a people’s choice competition. Watch our winning EFRC YouTube video on the EFRC:CST homepage!

A full list of presentations given by our EFRC:CST team members is provided below. Congratulations to the team for a doing great job representing our Center at the Summit/Forum!

Oral Presentations:

Xiaoyang Zhu and Peter Rossky, “Charge Separation and Transfer at Organic Semiconductor Interfaces: From Single Molecules to Single Crystals.”

Graeme Henkelman, Phani Dathar, Penghao Xiao, Keith J. Stevenson, Arumugam Manthiram and John B.Goodenough, “Modeling Li+ Diffusion in Battery Materials.”


Johanna Brazard, Takuji Adachi, Robert J. Ono, Songsu Kang, Christopher W. Bielawski, Paul F. Barbara. “Probing the Origins of Conjugated Polymer Morphology: Single Molecule Studies of Chain Interaction in a P3HT Derivative Triblock Copolymer.”

Adam Willard, Loren Kaake, Jonathan Moussa, Michael J. Bedard-Hearn, Xiaoyang Zhu, James Chelikowsky, Peter J. Rossky. “Microscopic Theory of Exciton Dissociation.”

Robert J. Ono, Jonathan Radcliffe, Songsu Kang, Zong-Quan Wu, Zicheng Li, Christopher W. Bielawski. “New Synthetic Methodologies for the Preparation of Donor-Acceptor Block Copolymers.”

Justin T. Harris, Sankaran Murugesan, Anthony Dylla, Aaron M. Chockla, Keith J. Stevenson, Brian A. Korgel. “Metallically Doped Colloidal Silicon Nanostructures for Lithium-Ion Battery Anodes.”

Phani Dathar, Daniel Sheppard, Graeme Henkelman. “Kinetics of Li-Ion Diffusion in Olivine Phosphates.”

Karalee Jarvis, Steven Deng, Eun Sung Lee, Penghao Xiao, Graeme Henkelman, Arumugam Manthiram, Paulo Ferreira. “Structure of Li[LiM]O2 Electrodes for Li-ion Batteries.”

Note: Selected text from this article was taken from a news article originally posted by the Department of Energy. Read the original article here.